The ASCA Recovery Framework is a 3 stage model for healing containing 21 steps.

The stages and steps are:

Stage 1 – Remembering

I am in a breakthrough crisis, having gained some sense of my abuse.

I have determined that I was physically, sexually or emotionally abused as a child.

I have made a commitment to recovery from my childhood abuse.

I shall re-experience each set of memories as they surface in my mind.

I accept that I was powerless over my abusers’ actions which holds them responsible.

I can respect my shame and anger as a consequence of my abuse but shall try not to turn it against myself or others.

I can sense my inner child whose efforts to survive now can be appreciated.

Stage 2 – Mourning

I have made an inventory of the problem areas in my adult life.

I have identified the parts of myself connected to self-sabotage.

I can control my anger and find healthy outlets for my aggression.

I can identify faulty beliefs and distorted perceptions in myself and others.

I am facing my shame and developing self-compassion.

I accept that I have the right to be who I want to be and live the way I want to live.

I am able to grieve my childhood and mourn the loss of those who failed me.

Stage 3 – Healing

I am entitled to take the initiative to share in life’s riches.

I am strengthening the healthy parts of myself, adding to my self-esteem.

I can make necessary changes in my behavior and relationships at home and work.

I have resolved the abuse with my offenders to the extent that is acceptable to me.

I hold my own meaning about the abuse that releases me from the legacy of the past.

I see myself as a thriver in all aspects of life – love, work, parenting, and play.

I am resolved in the reunion of my new self and eternal soul.

%d bloggers like this: